RSS

One True Sentence

30 Jul

‘All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence that you know.’

So finally I would write one true sentence, and then go on from there. It was easy then because there was always one true sentence that I knew or had seen or had heard someone say. If I started to write elaborately, or like someone introducing or presenting something, I found that I could cut that scrollwork or ornament out and throw it away and start with the first true simple declarative sentence I had written. ~Ernest Hemingway, ‘A Moveable Feast’

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “One True Sentence

  1. prettymisstaken

    August 1, 2017 at 4:07 am

    IS IT I = IT IS I
    (first part must be hummed, it is a song about hearing one calling in the night…second part is the coming, the reversal of confused perceptions now manifested as energy… So you see, the equality and balance are perfect but different– accepted as beautifully unique. In this way, order and harmony may co-exist within flexible circumstances (rather than descending into chaotic impositions of forced conformity — which we see as destructive and oppressive, in a world where confusion has reigned for too long). We are not robots. We must be given the room to process our emotional and body reactions and be aware that every one is experiencing a different reality and journey as they navigate each day…

    This is key because the world was intended to be mirrored as such.

    Energy is not made nor destroyed. We are All made of energy. Heaven is what your loved ones make it. Be kind, mankind.

    To be continued…

    Like

     
    • KellyDS

      August 1, 2017 at 9:39 am

      Here I am Lord, is it I, Lord? I have heard you calling in the night…‘ that’s one of my favorite songs, and I sing it in the shower often 🙂

      Like

       
  2. prettymisstaken

    August 1, 2017 at 4:16 am

    Aye Aye, Captain!
    (there are two I’s, 2 eyes, t-w-i-c-e….)
    =)

    Like

     
  3. prettymisstaken

    August 1, 2017 at 10:20 am

    I wouldn’t be surprised if my mum does this also! She is always the loudest voice in the room when it comes to church hymns, almost as if it means more if it is louder! And yet she perplexes me: she attends bible study despite saying she doesn’t believe in the religion itself. This makes sense, however what I find so amusing about it, is that she doesn’t let on to everyone in her group. She just lets them assume that she is an avid follower of the church. But what is a follower if they question every written for discussing perceptions? Isn’t it the overall meaning, the intention, that really matters? To get lost in the meaning, is to lose the message, and only serves to separate and confuse others. But to see it as a whole, to understand the words may have been altered, begs the reader to look for the patterns… because as they say, the devil is in the detail. Detailing has its place, but not with the bible — not specifically, anyway. It is a guide, not a dictionary. =)

    Like

     
  4. prettymisstaken

    August 1, 2017 at 10:36 am

    What I mean is, do question everything, for there are falsities everywhere… and it’s often hard to find the truth unless one searches all facets. But if something doesn’t feel right or sound right, then it may well not be! But as for messages for the heart, as for texts that are intended to help one’s soul, it is a riddler’s game if one tries to determine a texts meaning too deeply. Where I come from, it is about the lesson and the guidance towards a virtuous path. Unfortunately this world has many people and organisations in it that make it hard for people to choose wisely and easily. This is understandable. As long as we are doing our best to seek better choices every day then we are at least moving in the right direction! We can only achieve this through the people demanding better choices so that they can be as One love, that is all that can save the planet. And that time is NOW. I am grateful for everything, every little thing, and that’s where we start, is just being grateful… always thankful… always hopeful… 😀

    Like

     
    • KellyDS

      August 1, 2017 at 2:09 pm

      when it comes to the bible, so much of it is historically based. while I may sometimes find meaning without knowing all the details, knowing those details can help me understand the writers better and what was going on around them at the time, etc. and so it adds layers to my understanding. I think that we find different things that speak to us depending on who we are and what is going on around us as well, so that we may learn something at a later date that never jumped out at us before. for me personally there are many things in the bible that I question and may not actually believe in but that doesn’t take away from the big picture, because the pieces still connect for me and speak to me in a way that is right for me. just like your mother and her bible study, there are other religions that I don’t believe in but I still benefit from their teachings. in the end we just have to do what works for us, as individuals. spiritually and religion are very personal things, they take place inside of us, which makes it very difficult to regulate 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
