RSS

Wonderstruck

11 May

Can we talk about Dan Stevens’ acting for a moment?

The man can play a character like David Collins from The Guest, badass psycho that I’m sorta kind of in love with

And then also play someone like David Haller from Legion, sweet, confused, all powerful being that I just want to hug and kiss and cuddle up with forever.

Yes, both those characters are named David. This one is as well

There’s also Tim, from Colossal, who is a bit of a coward but I like the way he parts his hair, and I’ve decided that I’d like to live with him in that apartment.

There’s Spencer, from the short film Babysitting, who’s a pretentious cad but does it so charmingly. I mean, who else could wear that train wreck of an outfit and not have me automatically backing away? no one, that’s who.

And there’s James Harvey from The Ticket, who has me seriously contemplating whether the suit does indeed make the man.

And Noah Dorfman, from Criminal Activities, who’s been stuck in my head as of late.

I don’t know what it is about him. I guess I’ll have to watch the movie a few more times to figure it out. I’ve watched it 5 times already…

There’s also physicist turned hero, Will Porter, in the upcoming Kill Switch. Fingers crossed that he has some depth and the story isn’t just a showcase for special effects.

We’ll also be able to see Dan as Charles Dickens this winter, in The Man Who Invented Christmas. Not a character from the books, but the man himself.

And next year (hopefully) Thomas Richardson will grace us with his presence in Apostle, as he scuffles with early nineteenth century cult members in order to save his sister. Look at this pic of Dan taken on set and tell me you don’t want to see that character in action.

 

There are some characters I haven’t seen yet, like Matthew Crawley from Downton Abbey. I’m letting him age like fine wine.

 

And some supporting characters whose lines may be few but are enjoyable nonetheless. The Cobbler

 

Its exciting for me when I discover an actor who impresses me with their talent, and whose choice in roles I grow to trust because I’m not just watching for him but because I genuinely like the types of projects he picks. Dan Stevens has impressed me.

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2017 in Movies, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Wonderstruck

  1. SueBC

    May 12, 2017 at 3:21 am

    Ok. So one thing lead to another and I just spent way too long watching Dan Stevens, Emma Watson, Luke Evans, etc, etc, etc!

    Liked by 2 people

     

Leave a Reply

 
