RSS

a fangirl moment

21 Apr

This is a ‘bookmark’ post for me, a collection of Dan Stevens related videos that I’ve found and want to keep coming back to, gathering them in one place to make it easier to view when I need a fix. My bookmarks and ‘likes’ on social media become so chaotic when I start a new crush. Some things I mark because I like them and want to keep coming back to them, other things I mark because they look interesting but I haven’t viewed them yet, while others I mark to remind me to watch more of that type, etc. It all becomes a bit disorganized and confusing! I’ve only touched the very tip of the ice-berg in relation to Dan, so these are just some of my favorites at the moment.

 

Dan Stevens:reading Madame Bovary
a series of videos presented by ‘Carte Noire’ coffee, where Dan reads excerpts from classic books. I find them greatly enjoyable for the combination of his reading voice and eye contact. ‘I need your eyes, your voice, your thoughts.’  too true!

 

Dan Stevens- guilty man crush
at the 2013 GQ Man of the Year awards, Dan was asked who his man crush is. his quick thinking response and dry delivery are priceless, as are his piercing blue eyes when he looks straight at the camera.

 

Interview with Dan Stevens, Narrator of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein audiobook
I love hearing these snippets showcasing the ‘old Hollywood’ voice Dan uses to narrate this book. I’ve never read this classic myself but his description of the story makes me want to.

 

Rainbow Connection
a scene from Dan’s FX show ‘Legion’, where he plays the banjo and sings ‘The Rainbow Connection’. his character is terrified in the moment shown, which is why his voice is all shaky, but I’ve always loved this song. the way Dan’s long legs are drawn up into that sitting position, reminiscent of Kermit the Frog, makes me smile big!

 

Dan speaks French
promo for ‘Beauty and the Beast’ where Dan answers a few questions related to France. his pronunciation sounds lovely to my ear, and his facial expressions during the ‘cemetery’ answer are funny.
he speaks German too. here’s a link to a press conference for the film ‘Hilde’, where he answers a question in German.

 

Vanity Fair: in conversation with Dan Stevens ‘The Guest’ 
(note: this interview snippet cuts off before any mention of Uma Thurman in Kill Bill, like the video title suggests)
Dan looks very sharp in his suit here and his eyes are lovely. and now I kind of want to record myself reciting ‘The Gettysburg Address’ in my accent, just to see what it sounds like.

 

The Guest- Locker Scene
scene from Dan’s movie, ‘The Guest’. I’ve cued this vid to jump to the point when David’s demeanor transforms from normal to menacing by just using his eyes and a slight shift of his lips. it’s creepy and impressive.

 

edited to add: the video I originally linked to was removed, so this one is a fanvid with instrumental music but it still shows some of the facial expression that I wanted to highlight.

 

Dan Stevens-GQ Men of the Year awards Red Carpet with Tom Hiddleston
just a short fuzzy moment where old friends give each other a hug. I like hearing Dan call Tom’s name in surprise and then Tom affectionately calls Dan ‘gorgeous’.

 

confession- I’ve started each day this past week by watching these 4 fanvids while I eat breakfast:

 

only dan stevens (multi character)
I’ve only seen a few of these characters so far but the shots chosen are pleasing, and the song fits my thoughts perfectly at the moment.

 

Sydney & David- As Long As You Love Me (Legion)
David and Syd’s relationship in ‘Legion’ is so cute and swoony. Syd can’t touch others so instead of holding hands they hold onto a ribbon of cloth between them, and they ‘kiss’ by using their reflection in the window. the song chosen is beautiful too.

 

The Guest- Dan Stevens- The Red Crayon Aristocrat Club 
this video and song choice fits the tone of ‘The Guest’ perfectly. the pace and transition between scenes is done really well.

 

legion- friction
the editing in this vid is superb! really great representation of ‘Legion’.

 

and I’ll include these pics too, just because:

 

I don’t know how old Dan is in these pictures or what the backstory is but he just looks so fresh faced and adorable in them!

 

I love airport pics because they give us an unhindered view into the personal clothing style of our crushes, i.e. the ‘hot mess’ look.
okay, I think that’s a good place to stop. for now.
XxXxXx

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2017 in Books, Movies, Music, Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “a fangirl moment

  1. Herba

    April 24, 2017 at 4:56 am

    Er spricht deutsch – ich bin begeistert! ❤ Danke für die tollen Videos!!!!

    Like

     
    • KellyDS

      April 24, 2017 at 8:54 am

      I was thinking of you when I linked the example of him speaking German 🙂 there is another copy of that bit with English subtitles, which was very helpful for me! but here is another interview with him answering in German (starts at 4:09)

      does he speak it well? he seems to stumble a bit in both examples but I wasn’t sure if he was just trying to complete a thought or if he was struggling with the language itself. I watched the movie these interviews were for (Hilde) and I really liked it. Dan doesn’t come in until the latter half but his character is sweet and ends up marrying the main character. there’s a nice shot of him and a strategically placed bed sheet too 😉 here’s a video of just his parts in the movie. he speaks English at first but switches to German at the 9:45 mark and then speaks it for the rest of the movie. this same youtube user has the whole movie uploaded (in one part) with English subtitles too 🙂

      Like

       
      • Herba

        April 26, 2017 at 5:24 am

        Thanks for the vids!!!
        I think his German is okay and if you bear in mind that he learned it in school and never really spoke it it’s excellent!

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. Herba

    April 24, 2017 at 8:43 am

    Apparently I was so excited about his language skills that I answered in German – sorry!!! *lol*
    Thanks for all the great vids :*

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • KellyDS

      April 24, 2017 at 8:57 am

      that’s okay, Google Translate works pretty well for short sentences 😀

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
