RSS

a television role sounds appealing

09 Feb
[The ‘Yours in Armitage’ series is a collection of posts documenting my changing perceptions about my celebrity crush on Richard Armitage, using excerpts from past correspondence to help me come to terms with the uncertainties. I’m sharing this writing exercise in order to illustrate the highs and lows a fan can go through]

 

November 9, 2013- the idea of a television role sounds appealing to me. I don’t see it as a step down. just because he was in The Hobbit doesn’t mean he’s automatically on the A list.

As a fan who came into the Richard Armitage fandom at the tail end of The Hobbit promotional tour, I always felt like I had missed out on seeing ‘the object of my affection’ weekly in television form. not that I would have been able to see Robin Hood or Spooks weekly anyway, since I live in the United States, but don’t ruin my pity party! when Richard was cast in Hannibal, I was excited for the opportunity to finally join in on the fun. it was broadcast on NBC, which made it readily available for me to see Richard on my screen week by week. only, once it did come to pass, I did what I almost always do with television shows these days: I recorded it to watch at a later date, which puts me weeks (if not months) behind. with this particular show it was due to the subject matter; psychologically scary and a bit on the gory side. with Berlin Station, it was inappropriate content (I saw those gifs on Tumblr…) that I didn’t want my preteen to unexpectedly wander into the room and see. confession: at present, I’ve only seen 3 full episodes of Berlin Station. I know, I know, such a sorry excuse for a fangirl! but it just didn’t grab me like I was expecting it to. like I wanted it to. like I needed it to.

Ideally I would prefer a weekly show that didn’t drag me down in heavy subject matter, or require me to watch each episode more than once in order to fully understand the plot. I’d like to see a character that told me a different storytumblr_lwjhn7hmmc1r8cvkvo1_500 each week, instead of one long narrative stretched out over a whole season. when I watch a weekly television show I want to feel a sense of familiarity towards the main characters, a bond, like friends getting together as we share with each other the ongoing stresses and mishaps that make up our lives. and when those stories get scary, overly emotional, or confusing, my ‘friends’ will be there to either guide me through it or walk along side me as we experience it together. neither Hannibal nor Berlin Station did that for me. maybe another opportunity will present itself in the future.

Yours in Armitage,

Kelly

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2017 in Television

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “a television role sounds appealing

  1. Guylty

    February 9, 2017 at 9:43 am

    Before I comment – “inappropriate content” and Berlin Station???? 😳 If anything, Hannibal was a thousand times more inappropriate for pre-teens, what with all the gore and violence. Ok, there was that ONE instance of ‘indoor sports’, but that was over before you could say ‘peaches’. πŸ˜‰
    Anyhow – you have totally nailed it. I was trying to put my finger on it, too – why do I feel positive towards a TV role for RA in general, but was not really that madly into it when he did Hannibal and BS? It is like you said – a show with plotlines that are contained within one episode each, would appeal to me more, too. Is it because we “grew up on” RH and Spooks? And even NS and SB were almost episodic (despite being presented as a longer story arc across several episodes). I guess it has its pros and cons – a season-long story arc provides opportunity for RA to really get the meat out of a story, to concentrate on the slow and intense moments. Short story arcs mean more variety.
    With Armitage’s involvement in BS2 now confirmed, I wonder whether the show will go through any changes. Will the makers have learnt from season 1 and opt for a faster pace with more contained plotlines, for instance? I would like that very much.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • KellyDS

      February 9, 2017 at 10:34 am

      I’m an American, sex & language are concerning but violence is perfectly acceptable πŸ˜‰

      generally speaking, I prefer television shows that focus on a separate story each week with underlying plotlines that run throughout the series. in television I like to see the recurring characters as guides who are helping to interpret the story, instead of being the story themselves. less opportunity for actors to show their capabilities, true, but more opportunity for me to form an attachment to them, which will keep me coming back for more. also, with more varied subject matter, the odds that I will leave because of one or two episodes is low. if it’s an ongoing story and I don’t like where it’s going, then I will probably quit sooner rather than later to save myself the disappointment.

      Like

       
      • Guylty

        February 9, 2017 at 11:23 am

        I think that is very convincingly argued. I completely agree with you. With an admittably short attention span, a dull storyline is the prime reason for me to switch off. The only reason I didn’t with BS, was that RA was in it.
        LOL on the “sex and language vs violence” thing. Another convincing argument πŸ˜‰

        Like

         
        • KellyDS

          February 9, 2017 at 12:33 pm

          my intention was not to debate, just stating what I happen to like πŸ™‚ aesthetically speaking though, Berlin Station and Hannibal were both very fine examples of how attractive and charismatic Richard can appear. he looked very appealing to me in Berlin Station, and sounded appealing as well. I didn’t think I’d like the accent but I really did. and even though he was supposed to be untouchable in Hannibal, his physical form was very attractive.

          Like

           
  2. Guylty

    February 9, 2017 at 12:46 pm

    Did we have a debate?
    Yes on attractiveness of the actor.

    Like

     
    • KellyDS

      February 9, 2017 at 12:55 pm

      I didn’t think so but you said I make convincing arguments, so I wasn’t sure! if I’m winning at something, even if I don’t mean to, I like to know. LOL! πŸ˜€

      Like

       
      • Guylty

        February 9, 2017 at 2:18 pm

        hehe – you do – even though we didn’t argue. Totally on the same wave length 🌊

        Like

         
  3. Cill

    February 9, 2017 at 5:40 pm

    I agree. I’d like him on (I whisper with shame) network tv. Something that he can sink his teeth into metaphorically (and not physically, like Hannibal). It’s not impossible. Look at the way that North American network tv worked out for Hugh Laurie. Frankly, if RA is willing to take roles like the cameo in ‘Alice’ and whatever it is in ‘Oceans 8’, he shouldn’t have a problem with a few guest-starring roles on high profile successful shows either.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
