RSS

Through the Cracks of Recollection

19 Apr

Memories of a trip are often colored by the overall experience as a whole; certain things end up defining the trip, while others fall through the cracks of recollection. When my husband and I took our first trip to Scotland two years ago, we were plagued by bad luck at the outset: missed flights, lost luggage, and a traffic accident, were just some of the obstacles we faced. In our retelling of the trip those things seem to take precedence with listeners, while the less shocking moments get pushed aside. My personal memories of Scotland don’t consist of everything that went wrong, but rather, everything that went right. Here are just a few of the things that stick with me:

(photography by my husband)

*wide open Sligachan, and the vitality of it’s picture postcard views

 

20140727_170614

 

*eating shortbread cookies in the rain, while sitting on a moss covered wall in Pitlochry

*how the wind whipped my hair all over the place as I looked out across Edinburgh, from the ruins of St. Anthony’s Chapel

20140729_131908-1

 

*the rust colored jellyfish I saw in the wake of the ferry, as I cautiously looked over the rail

*sitting on the side of the road after our tour bus accident, taking in the rural view with all of my senses, as the police officer directed traffic behind me and yelled at the passing cars for driving too slow

20140726_114917

 

*comparing the rubberband bracelets that adorned my wrist with the teenage girl from France, who also had many on her wrists as well, as we laughed at how the steam from the open train window fogged up my glasses and the coal dust dotted our clothes

*the lazy seal, napping as he floated in the water along the dock in Mallaig, waiting for the fishermen to throw him a treat as they cleaned their nets

20140728_131911

 

*standing beside a waterfall on a crisp cool morning, as l gazed out over the mist covered moor

*how the cool air bit my skin while the bright sun freckled it at the same time, as I viewed an iconic white cottage with it’s massive mountain backdrop in Glencoe

20140728_164625-1

 

*when the owner of a small cafe in Fort Augustus sent me a complimentary fruit plate when he found out I didn’t enjoy my glass of Irn Bru, Scotland’s other national drink.

*Eilean Donan Castle at dusk, trying to protect my face from swarms of biting midges

20140726_215037

 

*the sense of wonder I felt when strolling through the historic streets of Edinburgh, thinking “wow, it’s just like a film set!” and then realizing it has been a film set, many times over.

*seeing heather bloom in it’s natural environment

20140727_102408

wild are the winds to meet you
staunch are the friends that greet you
kind as the love that shines from fair maidens eyes

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 19, 2016 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Through the Cracks of Recollection

  1. Servetus

    April 19, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    neat to see your abiding picture of the trip!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
