RSS

Strike a Pose

21 Mar

One of the first things I learned about Jamie Dornan upon seeking more information, is that he was a male model. That made me raise an eyebrow. a model? really? not that he didn’t have the looks for it but I guess I just had a stereotype in mind for male models.

leather pants? check

leather pants? check

 

While the underwear ads are enjoyable in their own way, I bypassed them for the fragrance and clothing ones instead. clothes on but disheveled, is far sexier than clothes off, in my book.

normal_005

I soon discovered that I recognized a lot of the ads and commercials Jamie was in. especially the Levi’s jeans commercial where he and the girl are making their way to one another, walking over cars and whatnot, to the sound of “I Walk the Line”. I used to love that commercial! (specifically for the guy in it) so to find out it was Jamie was a nice surprise.

I had to laugh when I recognized some of the print ads as well, not because I remembered seeing them in magazines, but because they were popular for photoshopping purposes around the internet. Jamie’s body looks much better attached to his own head than to Robert Pattinson’s.

normal_007

hot-robert-pattinson-3124139-468-1-copy-copy

normal_013

th

The more I watched some of the photoshoots that were filmed, the more I realized that Jamie is very good at conveying a tone or feeling without actually speaking words. That’s a talent that I greatly admire in traditional acting, using the body and eyes, instead of dialogue alone. The behind-the-scenes footage from the Calvin Klein shoot is a prime example of this. All it takes is a look and the slight lowering of his chin to raise the temperature dramatically. Skin and wet clothes help too, of course. Watch and you’ll see them receiving directions, awkwardly laughing, then the switch flips and BAM! seduction central.

009

Jamie is good at acting without words but he’s good at acting with words too, he has a really nice voice.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2015 in other

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
