RSS

Smitten

14 Feb

Daily Prompt:

Remember your first crush? Think about that very first object of your affection. Oh, the sweaty palms. The swoony feeling in your stomach. Tell us the story of your first crush. What was it about this person that made your heart pound? Was the love requited? Change the names to protect the guilty or innocent if you must! No judgement here. Happy Valentine’s Day!

show us SMITTEN.

I had many puppy-love crushes when I was young, but the first one that felt personal to me was Nathan. He was one of my older brother’s friends and reminded me a bit of the Eddie Haskell character from the old black and white reruns of Leave it to Beaver. Nathan was misunderstood, in my eyes. He got into trouble a lot but so did my brother, so that didn’t automatically equal bad to me.

What I liked about Nathan was that he treated me like a person, instead of the “little sister” that he was forced to share space with. He talked to me instead of at me and he waited for my answers, instead of just biding time until something more interesting came along. I wasn’t delusional in my crush, I knew there were a variety of reasons that gave me no chance with him, but that didn’t stop my 13 year old self from doodling his name on every available surface. And when it became known that I was smitten with him, it didn’t change his interactions with me. He didn’t suddenly treat me like I had the plague or laugh at me, like others would.

Smitten to me went beyond simple physical attraction for the first time at that age, it meant being treated fairly and reciprocating in kind. There is always more to someone’s story than what they show on the surface, lend a non-judgmental ear and you’ll find out who they really are underneath; and you’ll find who you are underneath too.

love

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2014 in Self

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
