Trick-or-Treat, Smell My Feet

trick-or-treat, smell my feet, give me something good to eat

if you don’t, I don’t care, I’ll pull down your underwear!

I put up the Halloween decorations today. I don’t go all out like my neighbor’s do, just a few mildly spooky birds and jack-o-lantern cut-outs in the front windows, along with some autumn accents on the mantel. I was never a big fan of Halloween as a kid, it sent my anxieties into overdrive. Going up to multiple doors and being forced to talk to people? Stale popcorn-balls and chocolate covered raisins were not worth that hassle! Though the rare full-sized chocolate bar sometimes was.

My favorite thing to dress up as was a ghost. I wanted to be a ghost every year, which drove my costume-loving mother crazy! Being wrapped up in that sheet, with only my eyes visible, made me feel like I was all safe and warm (and anonymous); I didn’t care if I looked scary or not.

My mother, on the other hand, loved to dress up for Halloween. She and my father would go out with friends to the local bars, where the costume competitions were popular. It was always entertaining, and somewhat embarrassing, to see what they would come up with. The Incredible Hulk, a ballerina, a priest, a boxing-ring girl…and those were just my Dad *laughs* sometimes we dressed up as a family and went trick-or-treating together. One year we were the Killer Bees, from the Saturday Night Live comedy skit; complete with villainous mustaches and toy machine guns. And another time we were a Mickey & Minnie Mouse family; my brother refused to take part in that one.

While trick-or-treating and scary movies didn’t thrill me, the crafts we made at school and the themed songs we acted out in music class did. Eating candy corn at my grandma’s house while we made ghosts out of tissues was fun too, as was raking leaves with my aunt and trying to get a few good jumps in before my older brother destroyed the neatly stacked piles. My favorite thing about Halloween as a kid though, was watching It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown on television, amid the multiple ads for Almond Joy and Mounds candy bars.

sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t

Almond Joy’s got nuts, Mounds don’t

I don’t like coconut, At All.

but I do still enjoy eating candy corn…

one bite per layer.

Leave a Reply

